Skip to main content


About the Alameda County Waste Management Authority

The Alameda County Waste Management Authority is a public agency formed in 1976 by a Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement among the County of Alameda, each of the fourteen cities in the county, and two sanitary districts that provide refuse and recycling collection services. The Authority has a seventeen-member board composed of elected officials appointed by each member agency.

The Authority is responsible for preparation of the Alameda County Integrated Waste Management Plan and Alameda County Hazardous Waste Management Plan. It manages a long-range program for development of solid waste facilities and offers many programs in the areas of source reduction and recycling, market development, technical assistance and public education. Funding is provided by per-ton disposal and waste import mitigation fees.

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, the Authority Board and Energy Council meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland  at 3:00 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Please consult our board meeting calendar for more information. 

Board meeting agendas are available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information. 

The entire Waste Management Authority Board can be contacted by emailing, or individual Board members can be contacted at the email addresses below:

Board of Directors

Name Email
Bob Carling Councilmember, City of Livermore
Keith Carson Supervisor, County of Alameda
Deborah Cox 2nd VP; Councilmember, City of San Leandro
Emily Duncan Councilmember, Union City
Mike Hannon Councilmember, Newark
Melissa Hernandez Councilmember, City of Dublin
Dan Kalb Councilmember, City of Oakland
Jenny Kassan Councilmember, City of Fremont
Dianne Martinez Councilmember, City of Emeryville
Rochelle Nason Mayor, City of Albany
Jim Oddie Councilmember, City of Alameda
Jerry Pentin Councilmember, City of Pleasanton
Tim Rood 1st VP; Councilmember, City of Piedmont
Dave Sadoff President; Boardmember, Castro Valley Sanitary District
Susan Wengraf Councilmember, City of Berkeley
Shelia Young Boardmember, Oro Loma Sanitary District
Francisco Zermeño Councilmember, City of Hayward