Skip to main content

ACWMA Board

About the Alameda County Waste Management Authority

The Alameda County Waste Management Authority is a public agency formed in 1976 by a Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement among the County of Alameda, each of the fourteen cities in the county, and two sanitary districts that provide refuse and recycling collection services. The Authority has a seventeen-member board composed of elected officials appointed by each member agency.

The Authority is responsible for preparation of the Alameda County Integrated Waste Management Plan and Alameda County Hazardous Waste Management Plan. It manages a long-range program for development of solid waste facilities and offers many programs in the areas of source reduction and recycling, market development, technical assistance and public education. Funding is provided by per-ton disposal and waste import mitigation fees.

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, the Authority Board and Energy Council meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland  at 3:00 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Please consult our board meeting calendar for more information. 

Board meeting agendas are available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting transcripts@stopwaste.org.

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information. 

The entire Waste Management Authority Board can be contacted by emailing wmaboard@stopwaste.org, or individual Board members can be contacted at the email addresses below:

Board of Directors

Name Email
Vinnie Bacon Councilmember, City of Fremont vbacon@fremont.gov
Bob Carling Councilmember, City of Livermore rwcarling@cityoflivermore.net
Keith Carson Supervisor, County of Alameda kcarson@acgov.org
Deborah Cox 2nd VP; Councilmember, City of San Leandro dcox@sanleandro.org
Emily Duncan Councilmember, Union City Eduncan@unioncity.org
Mike Hannon Councilmember, Newark mike.hannon@newark.org
Melissa Hernandez Councilmember, City of Dublin melissa.hernandez@dublin.ca.gov
Dan Kalb Councilmember, City of Oakland DKalb@oaklandca.gov
Dianne Martinez Councilmember, City of Emeryville dmartinez@emeryville.org
Rochelle Nason Mayor, City of Albany rnason@albanyca.org
Jim Oddie Councilmember, City of Alameda joddie@alamedaca.gov
Jerry Pentin Councilmember, City of Pleasanton jpentin@cityofpleasantonca.gov
Tim Rood 1st VP; Councilmember, City of Piedmont trood@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Dave Sadoff President; Boardmember, Castro Valley Sanitary District dsadoff@cvsan.org
Susan Wengraf Councilmember, City of Berkeley swengraf@CityofBerkeley.info
Shelia Young Boardmember, Oro Loma Sanitary District syoung@oroloma.org
Francisco Zermeño Councilmember, City of Hayward Francisco.Zermeno@hayward-ca.gov
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon