Skip to main content

Recycling Board

Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board

The Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board was created in 1990 by the voters of Alameda County through a County Charter amendment ballot initiative, Measure D. The eleven-member board includes six citizen experts appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors and five elected officials from the Alameda County Waste Management Authority.

The Recycling Board is responsible for programs that promote source reduction, recycling, recycled product procurement, market development, and grants to non-profit waste reduction enterprises. Program funding is provided from a per ton disposal surcharge at the Altamont and Vasco Road landfills.

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, the Recycling Board's regular meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland, at 4:00 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month. Time and location varies—please consult our board meeting calendar for more information.

A Board meeting agenda is available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting transcripts@stopwaste.org.

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information.

The entire Recycling Board can be contacted by emailing recyclingboard@stopwaste.org, or individual Board members can be contacted at the email addresses below:

Board Members

Name Email
Adan Alonzo Recycling Programs aalonzo@blt-enterprises.com
Bernie Camara Recycling Materials Processing Industry bernie@livermoresanitation.com
Peter Maass Councilmember, City of Albany cityhall@albanyca.org
Dianne Martinez President; Councilmember, City of Emeryville dmartinez@emeryville.org
John Moore Environmental Organization jmoore@hennetzel.com
Jim Oddie Councilmember, City of Alameda joddie@alamedaca.gov
Michael Peltz Solid Waste Industry Representative mpeltz@wm.com
Jerry Pentin 2nd VP; Councilmember, City of Pleasanton jpentin@cityofpleasantonca.gov
Tim Rood Councilmember, City of Piedmont trood@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Steve Sherman 1st VP; Source Reduction Specialist stevenericsherman@gmail.com
Toni Stein Environmental Educator tweil@igc.org
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon