Skip to main content

Recycling Board

Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board

The Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board was created in 1990 by the voters of Alameda County through a County Charter amendment ballot initiative, Measure D. The eleven-member board includes six citizen experts appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors and five elected officials from the Alameda County Waste Management Authority.

The Recycling Board is responsible for programs that promote source reduction, recycling, recycled product procurement, market development, and grants to non-profit waste reduction enterprises. Program funding is provided from a per ton disposal surcharge at the Altamont and Vasco Road landfills.

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, the Recycling Board's regular meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland, at 4:00 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month. Time and location varies—please consult our board meeting calendar for more information.

A Board meeting agenda is available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information.

Board Members

Name Email
Vacant ACWMA
Jillian Buckholz 2nd VP; Recycling Programs
Bernie Camara Recycling Materials Processing Industry
Deborah Cox 1st VP; Councilmember, City of San Leandro
Nancy Deming Environmental Educator
Dianne Martinez Councilmember, City of Emeryville
John Moore Environmental Organization
Tianna Nourot Solid Waste Industry Representative
Jim Oddie Councilmember, City of Alameda
Dave Sadoff Boardmember, Castro Valley Sanitary District
Sarah Vared President; Source Reduction Specialist
Francisco Zermeño Councilmember, City of Hayward
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon