Skip to main content

Recycling Board

Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board

The Alameda County Source Reduction and Recycling Board was created in 1990 by the voters of Alameda County through a County Charter amendment ballot initiative, Measure D. The eleven-member board includes six citizen experts appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors and five elected officials from the Alameda County Waste Management Authority.

The Recycling Board is responsible for programs that promote source reduction, recycling, recycled product procurement, market development, and grants to non-profit waste reduction enterprises. Program funding is provided from a per ton disposal surcharge at the Altamont and Vasco Road landfills.

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, the Recycling Board's regular meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland, at 4:00 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month. Time and location varies—please consult our board meeting calendar for more information.

A Board meeting agenda is available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting transcripts@stopwaste.org.

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information.

Board Members

Name Email
Vacant Solid Waste Industry Representative
Jillian Buckholz Recycling Programs jillianbuckholz@gmail.com
Bernie Camara Recycling Materials Processing Industry bernie@livermoresanitation.com
Nancy Deming Environmental Educator nancy.deming@ousd.org
Sara Lamnin Councilmember, City of Hayward sara.lamnin@hayward-ca.gov
Peter Maass 2nd VP; Councilmember, City of Albany cityhall@albanyca.org
Dianne Martinez Councilmember, City of Emeryville dmartinez@emeryville.org
John Moore Environmental Organization jmoore@hennetzel.com
Jim Oddie President; Councilmember, City of Alameda joddie@alamedaca.gov
Tim Rood Councilmember, City of Piedmont trood@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Sarah Vared 1st VP; Source Reduction Specialist sarahvared@gmail.com
Facebook icon
Twitter icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon