Skip to main content

StopWaste Names Winners of Environmental Leadership Awards

June 14, 2024

At a recognition event on June 13, StopWaste named the recipients of the 2024 StopWaste Environmental Leadership Awards. Celebrated for the 22nd time, this annual awards program honors Alameda County entities for their leadership and innovations in advancing environmental sustainability, waste prevention, and contributions to building healthy, climate resilient communities in Alameda County.

StopWaste Executive Director Timothy Burroughs noted, “We feel truly privileged to acknowledge these leaders and innovators today. Representing businesses, nonprofits and schools, these champions share our vision of an inclusive, circular economy. And they show us how we can indeed build a future where materials are used efficiently; where local food systems are prioritized; and where reuse, repair, refill, and recycling maintain the value of materials as long as possible, so all can thrive.”

The award winners and categories are:

Vesta Foodservice, Hayward
Excellence in Food Recovery & Donation

Sparkl Reusables, Oakland & Spectrum Community Services, Hayward
Excellence in Reusable Foodware Partnership 

oWOW, Oakland
Excellence in Construction Innovation

Drake's Brewing Company, San Leandro
Excellence in Waste Prevention and Reuse

Mohr Elementary School, Pleasanton
Excellence in Sustainability at School 

To read more about each awardee’s achievements and view or download the presentation slides, visit