Skip to main content

Energy Council

About the Energy Council

The Energy Council was formed in spring 2013 as a Joint Powers Agency to seek funding on behalf of its member agencies to develop and implement programs and policies that reduce energy demand, increase energy efficiency, advance the use of clean, efficient and renewable resources, and help create climate resilient communities. The Energy Council will assist its members in strengthening staff capacity, providing technical expertise, and securing funds to implement local sustainable energy strategies.

Program priorities through 2021 include:

  • Building Efficiency
  • Electrification
  • Grid Solutions
  • Member Agency Services
  • Zero Net Carbon
All fifteen jurisdictions in Alameda County serve on the Board of the Energy Council including the County of Alameda, and the Cities of Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, Union City. Cities and counties outside of Alameda County are also eligible to join if approved by the Council’s Board. A Technical Advisory Group made up of staff from participating agencies helps with project coordination and implementation.

Meeting Schedule

Unless otherwise noted, the Authority Board and Energy Council meetings are held at 1537 Webster St., Oakland  at 3:00 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Please consult our board meeting calendar for more information. 

Board meeting agendas are available one week prior to the board meeting. Board meeting minutes are available upon request by contacting

Please call (510) 891-6500 for more information. 

Energy Council Board: