Skip to main content
Joint Meeting - WMA/Energy Council/Recycling Board
Date/Time: Wednesday, November 17, 2021 - 3:00pm
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 891-6500

Teleconference/Public Participation Information to Mitigate the Spread of COVID-19

This meeting will be held entirely by teleconference. All Board members, staff, and the public will only participate via the Zoom platform using the process described below. The meeting is being conducted in compliance with the recent amendments to the Ralph M. Brown Act suspending certain teleconference rules due to the ongoing state of emergency and state and local health officials recommendations to maintain social distancing. The purpose of these amendments was to provide the safest environment for the public, elected officials, and staff while allowing for continued operation of the government and public participation during the COVID-19 pandemic. Board members will receive a separate unique email invite. Staff and members of the public may attend and participate in the meeting by:

Members of the public and staff who are not presenting an item may attend and participate in the meeting by:

  1. Calling 1 (669) 900-6833 and entering meeting ID 870 6770 1676
  2. Using the Zoom website or App and entering meeting code 870 6770 1676

Board members and any other individuals scheduled to speak at the meeting will be sent a unique link via email to access the meeting as a panelist. All Board members MUST use their unique link to attend the meeting. During the meeting the chair will explain the process for members of the public to be recognized to offer public comment. The process will be described on the StopWaste website at no later than noon Wednesday, November 17, 2021. The public may also comment during the meeting by sending an e-mail to prior to the close of public comment on the item being addressed. Each e-mail will be read into the record for up to three minutes.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the recent amendments to the Ralph M. Brown Act, if you need assistance to participate in this meeting due to a disability, please contact the Clerk of the Board at (510) 891-6517. Notification 24 hours prior to the meeting will enable the agency to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.





    Members are asked to please advise the boards or the council if you might need to leave before action items are completed.


    An opportunity is provided for any member of the public wishing to speak on any matter within the jurisdiction of the boards or council, but not listed on the agenda.  Total time limit of 30 minutes with each speaker limited to three minutes unless a shorter period of time is set by the President.


    1. View item
      p. 1 of full packet

      Approval of the Draft WMA/EC Minutes of October 27, 2021 (WMA/EC only)

    2. View item
      p. 5 of full packet

      Resolution regarding meeting via teleconference to promote social distancing, pursuant to AB 361 (WMA only)

      Adopt Resolution WMA# 2021-05.

    3. View item
      p. 9 of full packet

      Approval of the Draft PC/RB Minutes of October 14, 2021 (RB only)

    4. View item
      p. 13 of full packet

      Resolution regarding meeting via teleconference to promote social distancing, pursuant to AB 361 (RB only)

      Adopt Resolution RB# 2021-04.

    5. View item
      p. 17 of full packet

      Recycling Board Attendance Record (RB only)

    6. View item
      p. 19 of full packet

      Written Report of Ex Parte Communications (RB only)

    7. View item
      p. 21 of full packet

      Resolution regarding meeting via teleconference to promote social distancing, pursuant to AB 361 (EC only)

      Adopt Resolution EC# 2021-06.


    1. View item
      p. 25 of full packet

      Legislative Priorities for 2022 (Jeff Becerra) (WMA only)

      That the WMA Board discuss legislative priorities for calendar year 2022 and adopt a priority or set of priorities for staff to pursue in conjunction with its partners and the agency’s lobbying team in Sacramento. The Recycling Board is also encouraged to provide input on the Agency’s 2022 legislative priorities.

    2. View item
      p. 29 of full packet

      Alameda County Food Recovery Network Overview (Cassie Bartholomew) (WMA & RB only)

      This item is for information only.

    3. View item
      p. 31 of full packet

      Amendment to the Alameda County Integrated Waste Management Plan (CoIWMP) for California Waste Solutions North Gateway facility located at 2308 Wake Avenue in Oakland (Emily Alvarez) (PC&RB only)

      Staff recommends that the Recycling Board (in its role as Local Task Force) provide comments recommending, and that the Planning Committee recommend to the WMA Board that it hold a public hearing and adopt a resolution to (1) amend the ColWMP (Exhibit 1) to include the CWS North Gateway Recycling Facility in the City of Oakland, and make additional changes for consistency, (2) find that the CWS facility conforms to the CoIWMP, as amended, and (3) make the findings required by CEQA.

    4. Interim appointment(s) to the Recycling Board for WMA appointee unable to attend future Board Meeting(s) (Arliss Dunn) (WMA only)

      Planning Committee and Recycling Board meeting on December 9, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. The meeting will be held via teleconference.




Download the Agenda or Full Packet below. Individual items may also be downloaded to the left.





Shelia Young, WMA President
Oro Loma Sanitary District, WMA

Dianne Martinez, WMA 1st Vice President
City of Emeryville, WMA, EC

Bob Carling, WMA 2nd Vice President
City of Livermore, WMA, EC, RB

Dan Kalb, EC President
City of Oakland, WMA, EC, RB

Jack Balch, EC 1st Vice President
City of Pleasanton, WMA, EC

Preston Jordan, EC 2nd Vice President
City of Albany, WMA, EC

Darby Hoover, RB President
Environmental Organization, RB

Francisco Zermeño, RB 1st Vice President
City of Hayward, WMA, EC, RB

Laura McKaughan, RB 2nd Vice President
Recycling Materials Processing Industry, RB

David Haubert, County of Alameda, WMA, EC

Trish Herrera Spencer, City of Alameda, WMA, EC

Susan Wengraf, City of Berkeley, WMA, EC

Dave Sadoff, Castro Valley Sanitary District, WMA, RB

Melissa Hernandez, City of Dublin, WMA, EC

Jenny Kassan, City of Fremont, WMA, EC

Michael Hannon, City of Newark, WMA, EC

Jen Cavenaugh, City of Piedmont, WMA, EC

Deborah Cox, City of San Leandro, WMA, EC, RB

Jaime Patiño, City of Union City, WMA, EC

Eric Havel, Environmental Educator, RB

Chiman Lee, Recycling Programs, RB

Matthew Zimbalist, Source Reduction Specialist, RB

Timothy Burroughs, Executive Director