Skip to main content
Programs & Administration Committee
Date/Time: Thursday, December 10, 2020 - 9:00am
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 891-6500

Teleconference/Public Participation Information to Mitigate the Spread of COVID-19.

This meeting will be entirely by teleconference.  All Board members, staff, and the public will only participate via the Zoom platform using the process described below.  The meeting is being conducted in compliance with the Governor’s Executive Order N-29-20 suspending certain teleconference rules required by the Ralph M. Brown Act. The purpose of this order is to provide the safest environment for the public, elected officials, and staff while allowing for continued operation of the government and public participation during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Members of the public and staff who are not presenting an item may attend and participate in the meeting by:

1. Calling US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799  or +1 929 205 6099  or +1 301 715 8592  or +1 312 626 6799 and using the Webinar ID: 819 9064 1530

2.      Using the Zoom website or App and entering meeting code 819 9064 1530

Board members and any other individuals scheduled to speak at the meeting will be sent a unique link via email to access the meeting as a panelist. All Board members MUST use their unique link to attend the meeting. During the meeting the chair will explain the process for members of the public to be recognized to offer public comment.  The process will be described on the StopWaste website at no later than 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, December 9, 2020.  The public may also comment during the meeting by sending an e-mail to  prior to the close of public comment on the item being addressed.  Each e-mail will be read into the record for up to three minutes.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Governor’s Executive Order, if you need assistance to participate in this meeting due to a disability, please contact the Clerk of the Board at (510) 891-6517. Notification 24 hours prior to the meeting will enable the agency to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.



    1. Convene Meeting

    2. Public Comments

      Open public discussion from the floor is provided for any member of the public wishing to speak on any matter within the jurisdiction of the Programs & Administration Committee, but not listed on the agenda. Each speaker is limited to three minutes unless a shorter period of time is set by the Chair.

    3. View item
      p. 1 of full packet

      Approval of the Draft Minutes of October 8, 2020 (Pat Cabrera)

    4. View item
      p. 5 of full packet

      2021 Meeting Schedule (Arliss Dunn)

      It is recommended that the Programs & Administration Committee adopt the regular meeting schedule for 2021.

    5. View item
      p. 7 of full packet

      2021 Legislative Priorities (Jeff Becerra)

      Discuss legislative priorities for calendar year 2021 and provide a recommendation to the Waste Management Authority for adoption at its December 16 meeting. The staff recommendation is to join efforts with partners to introduce and support legislation seeking to modify SB 1383 implementation timelines.

    6. View item
      p. 11 of full packet

      Landfill Tonnage and Associated Revenue (Pat Cabrera & Nisha Patel)

      This item is for information only.

    7. View item
      p. 15 of full packet

      Contract/Vendor Authorization (Pat Cabrera)

      That the Programs and Administration Committee recommend that the WMA Board approve the contracts, vendors and/or spending authority as listed in the staff report.

    8. Member Comments

    9. Adjournment


Download the Agenda or Full Packet below. Individual items may also be downloaded to the left.




Emily Duncan, Chair, City Of Union City

Dianne Martinez, Vice Chair, City of Emeryville

Jim Oddie, City of Alameda

Nick Pilch, City of Albany

Keith Carson, County of Alameda

Susan Wengraf, City of Berkeley

Melissa Hernandez, City of Dublin

Jenny Kassan, City of Fremont

Mike Hannon, City of Newark

Jerry Pentin, City of Pleasanton

Shelia Young, Oro Loma Sanitary District

Tim Rood, City of Piedmont

Wendy Sommer, Executive Director