Skip to main content
WMA/Energy Council
Date/Time: Wednesday, December 15, 2021 - 3:00pm
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 891-6500

Teleconference/Public Participation Information to Mitigate the Spread of COVID-19

This meeting will be held entirely by teleconference. All Board members, staff, and the public will only participate via the Zoom platform using the process described below. The meeting is being conducted in compliance with the recent amendments to the Ralph M. Brown Act suspending certain teleconference rules due to the ongoing state of emergency and state and local health officials recommendations to maintain social distancing. The purpose of these amendments was to provide the safest environment for the public, elected officials, and staff while allowing for continued operation of the government and public participation during the COVID-19 pandemic. Board members will receive a separate unique email invite. Staff and members of the public may attend and participate in the meeting by:

  1. Calling US: +1 669 900 6833 and using the Webinar ID 849 6443 6411
  1. Using the Zoom website or App and entering meeting code 849 6443 6411

During the meeting the chair will explain the process for members of the public to be recognized to offer public comment. The process will be described on the StopWaste website at no later than noon Wednesday, December 15, 2021. The public may also comment during the meeting by sending an e-mail to prior to the close of public comment on the item being addressed. Each e-mail will be read into the record for up to three minutes.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the recent amendments to the Ralph M. Brown Act, if you need assistance to participate in this meeting due to a disability, please contact the Clerk of the Board at (510) 891-6517. Notification 24 hours prior to the meeting will enable the agency to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.





    Members are asked to please advise the board or the council if you might need to leave before action items are completed.


    An opportunity is provided for any member of the public wishing to speak on any matter within the jurisdiction of the board or council, but not listed on the agenda.  Total time limit of 30 minutes with each speaker limited to three minutes unless a shorter period of time is set by the President.


    The Consent Calendar contains routine items of business. Items in this section will be acted on in one motion for both the WMA and EC, unless removed by a member of either Board.  Members of the WMA who are not members of the EC will vote as part of the consent calendar vote, but their votes will not be considered in connection with any EC items.  Any member of the public may speak on an item on the Consent Calendar at this time. Public Speakers are limited to three (3) minutes.

    1. View item
      p. 1 of full packet

      Approval of the Draft Joint WMA, EC & RB Minutes of November 17, 2021

    2. View item
      p. 5 of full packet

      Resolution regarding meeting via teleconference to promote social distancing, pursuant to AB 361

      Adopt Resolution WMA# 2021-06.

    3. View item
      p. 9 of full packet

      2022 WMA & EC Meeting Schedule

      Adopt the 2022 Meeting Schedule.

    4. View item
      p. 11 of full packet

      Contract/Vendor Authorization

      That the WMA Board approve the contracts, vendors and/or spending authority listed in the staff report, as recommended by the P&A Committee.

    5. View item
      p. 13 of full packet

      Resolution regarding meeting via teleconference to promote social distancing, pursuant to AB 361

      Adopt Resolution EC# 2021-08.


    1. View item
      p. 17 of full packet

      Consider Need for Immediate Action and, if Approved, Consider Acceptance of U.S. Economic Development Agency Grant to Advance Construction Sector Innovation in the Bay Area (Karen Kho & Miya Kitahara)

      That the WMA Board add the consideration of this grant acceptance to the agenda for the December 15, 2021 meeting.

      That the WMA Board adopt the attached Resolution authorizing the Executive Director to enter into all necessary contract agreements with EDA and project partners and make corresponding changes to the FY 21/22 budget.

    2. View item
      p. 23 of full packet

      Amendment to the Alameda County Integrated Waste Management Plan (CoIWMP) for California Waste Solutions North Gateway facility located at 2308 Wake Avenue in Oakland (Emily Alvarez)

      Staff, the Recycling Board (as the Local Task Force), and the Planning Committee of the WMA recommend to the WMA Board that it hold a public hearing at the December 15, 2021 meeting and adopt a resolution to:

      (1) Amend the ColWMP (Exhibit 1) to include the CWS North Gateway Recycling facility in the City of Oakland; 

      (2) Find that the North Gateway Recycling facility conforms to the CoIWMP as amended; and 

      (3) Make the findings required by CEQA.

    3. View item
      p. 39 of full packet

      StopWaste Food Campaign (Robin Plutchok)

      This item is for information only.

    4. Interim appointment(s) to the Recycling Board for WMA appointee unable to attend future Board Meeting(s) (Arliss Dunn)

      Planning Committee and Recycling Board meeting, Thursday, January 13, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. Meeting will be held via teleconference.




Download the Agenda or Full Packet below. Individual items may also be downloaded to the left.





Shelia Young, WMA President
Oro Loma Sanitary District, WMA

Dianne Martinez, WMA 1st Vice President
City of Emeryville, WMA, EC

Bob Carling, WMA 2nd Vice President
City of Livermore, WMA, EC

Dan Kalb, EC President
City of Oakland, WMA, EC

Jack Balch, EC 1st Vice President
City of Pleasanton, WMA, EC

Preston Jordan, EC 2nd Vice President
City of Albany, WMA, EC

David Haubert, County of Alameda, WMA, EC

Trish Herrera Spencer, City of Alameda, WMA, EC

Susan Wengraf, City of Berkeley, WMA, EC

Dave Sadoff, Castro Valley Sanitary District, WMA

Melissa Hernandez, City of Dublin, WMA, EC

Jenny Kassan, City of Fremont, WMA, EC

Francisco Zermeño, City of Hayward, WMA, EC

Michael Hannon, City of Newark, WMA, EC

Jen Cavenaugh, City of Piedmont, WMA, EC

Deborah Cox, City of San Leandro, WMA, EC

Jaime Patiño, City of Union City, WMA, EC

Timothy Burroughs, Executive Director