Skip to main content
Programs & Administration Committee
Date/Time: Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 9:00am
1537 Webster Street
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 891-6500

Melissa Hernandez
Office of Vice Mayor Hernandez
Dublin City Hall
100 Civic Plaza, Second Floor
Dublin, CA 94568

Meeting is wheelchair accessible. Sign language interpreter may be available upon five (5) days’ notice to 510-891-6500.


    1. Convene Meeting

    2. Public Comments

      Open public discussion from the floor is provided for any member of the public wishing to speak on any matter within the jurisdiction of the Programs & Administration Committee, but not listed on the agenda. Each speaker is limited to three minutes unless a shorter period of time is set by the Chair.

    3. View item
      p. 1 of full packet

      Approval of the Draft Minutes of March 14, 2019 (Pat Cabrera)

    4. View item
      p. 5 of full packet

      Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Fee (Pat Cabrera)

      1. Direct staff to finalize the HHW fee analysis, focusing on an annual ongoing fee of $6.64 per residential unit.

      2. Direct staff to prepare a draft ordinance amending Ordinance 2014 -1 to (a) remove the sunset provision and (b) set the fee $6.64 fee per residential unit beginning July 1, 2020 and for the next five years.  The ordinance would require a programmatic and fiscal analyses every five years to determine if the fee needs to be revised (lowered or raised) for the next five years.  The ordinance would maintain the cap of $9.55 per residential unit established in 2014.  This change is under the purview of Proposition 218 and requires legal notification and a majority protest proceeding.  

      3. Direct staff to prepare amendments to the HHW program Memoranda of Understandings (MOUs) with Alameda County and the City of Fremont reflecting the new ordinance.  

    5. View item
      p. 13 of full packet

      Background for Single-Use Disposable Foodware Ordinance (Anu Natarajan)

      This item is for information only.

    6. Member Comments

    7. Adjournment


Download the Agenda or Full Packet below. Individual items may also be downloaded to the left.





Committee Members

Shelia Young, Chair
Oro Loma Sanitary District

Jerry Pentin, Vice Chair
City of Pleasanton

Keith Carson, County of Alameda

Rochelle Nason, City of Albany

Susan Wengraf, City of Berkeley

Melissa Hernandez, City of Dublin

Jenny Kassan, City of Fremont

Bob Carling, City of Livermore

Mike Hannon, City of Newark

Dan Kalb, City of Oakland

Tim Rood, City of Piedmont

Emily Duncan, City of Union City

Wendy Sommer, Executive Director